#11 Pyaaz Bytes: OTT Laziness, Hunters and Laugh Tracks

Hello Scrollers,

I have recently realized that I suffer from something called the “OTT Laziness”. You do not need to Google it, because I have created the term myself. I will not call it “digital fatigue” because that occurs when you are forced to face the screen for work.

“OTT Laziness” implies that I begin to feel super lazy as soon as I start watching a new series. I get too engrossed in it. I ignore my work. I procrastinate more. I want to binge eat. I even start ignoring my routine tasks such as reading and exercise.

I know I have a lot of work, so I was controlling myself to start any new series. However, I was getting bored while eating, so I started watching Hunters on Prime, as I had read in some random comment on some random post on Instagram that it is about the Jews killing the Nazis.

Historical fiction is my favorite genre. I have some weird fascination with holocaust, World War 2 and Jews. I loved Man in the High Castle. I think it’s because I love history and any movie or series of this genre makes me relate to the stuff I have read in the past. It is fascinating to know so many aspects of a historical event, varied experiences and accounts. It makes me angry that people are capable of such horrific acts but also gives me hope that a lot of people survive, despite all odds, and can make a good life later, without forgetting what they went through.

“There is nothing but the past” was said by Al Pacino in the series. It reminded me of “Sab kuch yaad rakha jayega”, a poem which became popular during CAA-NRC protests.

The flashback of the series showing defiance by Jews in the camps in small ways such as playing the Hava Nagila and Ruth saving a young girl despite knowing that they will get shot for it is inspiring. At first, it made me wonder that what is the point of getting oneself killed for something insignificant like this, but then I realized that it gives others hope. The hope of defiance. The hope that they can also stand up to their perpetrators. It creates a ripple effect. This was depicted in the scene when the other prisoners began humming Hava Nagila after the musicians were killed.

If your defiance inspires others to rebel, it is worth dying for.

I have watched only 2 and a half episodes of the series till now and I am finding it interesting. I hope that it is good, since it casts Al Pacino and Josh Radnor aka Ted Mosby. No doubt that he is a good actor, but it’s just weird to see him as not Ted Mosby, a sweet sexist man whose sole aim is to find the “love of his life”.

Do not get me wrong. I enjoyed HIMYM a lot during my graduation days. I loved all the characters, except Ted. I hated him because he was a simp for Robin and he sugarcoated his assholeness so much that it was annoying. The series was fun to watch, though I think I am little old now to laugh at those jokes. Just like I am to unable laugh while watching FRIENDS anymore. That phase is over.

There are better shows now like The Office, Barry, Schitt’s Creek, Brooklyn Nine Nine, South Park, Family Guy etc., with more likeable characters and no laugh tracks. The jokes are more intelligent, which might not make you Hahahaha every time but Hehe or Hah a lot of times, which is good.

If you remove laugh tracks from shows such as Friends and The Big Bang Theory, the show will be of merely 15- 20 mins with only one or two Hahs. I think Two and A Half Men with Charlie Sheen episodes are an exception to this as I found the jokes funny and did not laugh merely due to the laugh tracks.

 So, screw laugh tracks. #screwlaughtracks.

I covered myriad topics today from me being lazy to Holocaust to #screwlaughtracks. Phew!

Here’s to 694 words of Day 11. Cheers!

Leave a comment